Reviews

Review: El Diablo – M. Robinson

fivestar_blogimage

41thmjeae8l

keep-calm-and-add-to-your-tbr

I was ruthless. 
I was feared. 
I had sacrificed. Myself. Her. Everything… 


Living in a world where I was worth more dead than alive was a choice. I was a bad man, never claimed to be anything else. I’ve done things I’m not proud of. Seen things that can’t be unseen. I’ve caused pain that I can’t undo. 

It was all my choice. 
Every decision. 
Every order. 
Right and wrong never mattered. 
Until her. 
She was under my protection, until she became my obsession. 
But who was going to save her… 

From. Me. The devil himself. 

Fate brought us together. Destiny destroyed us. 


I first met Alejandro Martinez when I started reading Crave Me by M. Robinson. He was introduced as Briggs’ uncle, though she has no recollection of him so we barely know much about him besides the fact that he is El Diablo- known, respected  and feared throughout.

He was a tough one to crack. Unknown and unprdictable most times. Even though we only saw tidbits of him from that book, what little we see is interesting. It makes you curious, but hey, remember, Curiosity killed the cat…

El Diablo, a spin-off from the Good Ol’ Boys series, is his story.

d7891093ab1a4f0903cec88386110835The story starts off when Alejandro is just a young boy (in his teens). The violence that will surround his very being is non-existent at this time. In fact, most of the time, he’s just like every other boy, with an unhealthy fear of his own father (because we all know who his father is). He hasn’t been exposed to who or what his father is in the crime world and so he’s oblivious to this, not knowing that in a couple of years, violence is all he’ll ever know or understand.

One event in particular rips the blankets off his eyes for the very first time and shows him a glimpse of the world his father lives in. Now, I don’t want to go into particulars because I don’t want to spoil this for you but, let’s just say that the events of that night started the path that’ll lead him to becoming a Martinez.

His life from the time he turns 15 is full of tragedy, to say the least. All these scenarios and events mold him into who he finally becomes. The fact is that everything in his life has always been leading to him being El Diablo, and I love that he accepts this. He’s not a bad man, he’s just making the best of what fate dishes his way

“Even the Devil was an angel once, Alejandro. It’s only a matter of time until you become El Diablo, too.”ahs-american-horror-story-devil-quotes-favim-com-3472399

Lexi is his other half. I loved her! She’s a spitfire (I wish to be like her…lol). I wouldn’t say she’s not afraid, but she’s definitely courageous. She stands up to Martinez when men quake in their shoes just hearing his name. She is his equal in every way, the perfect woman to handle his different layers, because really, if there ever was a definition for complex, Alejandro Martinez would be it.

Just like Martinez, Lexi didn’t grow up in a stellar environment. An inattentive mother didn’t help things and because of this, she found solace in dance. She is a ballerina through and through. Though she started off rough, she still kept that light in her, aiming high for her dreams.

“Music and dance were my peace. They made me feel whole.”

I like to think their meeting was inevitable instead of chance. Their chemistry was off the charts hot, jumping out of the pages…

The twists and turns in this story are so unpredictable, M. Robinson definitely keeps you on your toes. I cried for them, I laughed with them, and whooooh *fanning myself*, I felt hot with them… M. Robinson created such intensely layered characters that you can’t help but hate and love them at the same time.

There were times when I felt really bad for Lexi and times when I was praying I was her (because really, who wouldn’t want a Martinez, huh? ;] ) I ached for Alejandro, for what he was molded into, for what life had in store for him. I got angry at him, and I also understood him.

The different levels of emotion M. Robinson weaves into her stories are on an entirely different level. I loved that, as a reader, I felt what she wanted me to feel. Half the time, people on the streets probably thought I was insane, going from sad to happy, to hurt to hoping…seriously.

There were also extremely hot scenes (barre, anyone? ;] ) and I loved every single one. There was no scene that didn’t belong, no chapter that was irrelevant. The way every part of the story tied together was shocking but absolutely brilliant.

Their love story is complex, with conflicts facing them at every turn.

“That’s what’s fucked up about us, Lexi. I’ve made you crave every side of me. You love the heartless El Diablo as much as you love your precious Alejandro.”

You will love every high and low Martinez and Lexi will take you. You will love him as much as hate him. You will want to shoot him, and at the same time hug 708783783-3ab4f4875e50218f23de5761e89cdd60him. But no matter what, you will root for them, because their connection, their fate was too strong to deny.

“I don’t care where we will go, or what we will do. You are my beginning and my end.”

 

See the series that started it all, The Good Ol’ Boys! (links below)

And of course, if you want to join her group (coz the shenanigans are never-ending, click here: M. Robinson’s VIPs.

Good Ol' Boys Complicate MeGood Ol' Boys Forbid MeGood Ol' Boys  Undo MeGood Ol' Boys Crave Me

 images      web      icon175x175      13800273

Leave a Reply

