Reviews

Review: Pennies – Pepper Winters

four-stars

“I’m not the hero in this story, girl. You’d do best to keep-calm-and-add-to-your-tbrremember that.”

At eighteen years old, I was 51cx4hsaqelmurdered. 

I wish my tale ended there. 

However, my killer
resuscitated me and sold me to the highest bidder, sentencing me to a world worse than Hell.

For the past two years, I’ve lived a life of torment as a man’s property. I suffer in silence and wish for freedom, but I never break.

I can’t.

I won’t.

But then he arrives.

The first stranger since I was killed.

Elder Prest, a thief with a heart as black as his soul, arrives as a guest in our twisted home. He has business with my owner, but his interest lies in me. He pretends not to notice my bruises and hides his knowledge of what I am, but the way he watches me makes me feel more human than possession.

As his eyes tear through my walls and his voice demands answers, he challenges my owner for one night with me.  

I’ve survived two years of torment because I no longer believe in hope, but Elder is the only man who promises me pleasure instead of pain.

Trusting him is dangerous, wanting him is deadly.19824413-_sx540_

Is he my ticket to safety or my ultimate end?

Whoever he is, whatever he wants…I can’t say no. 



Dark Romance is not for the faint of heart, trust me, I know. That being said, Pepper Winters does it again. I’ve read her Indebted series and though they were dark, full of violence, pain and grief, they were also full of love amidst all the trials and tribulations Jethro and Nila had to go through.

One thing I can definitely say about Pepper Winters is that I am hooked. I love her books. She pushes the limits, making me think outside the norm. Her stories are not your average typical ones. They are dark, they are long and painful in the process, they are twisted and will leave you shocked to your bones with your mouth hanging open and your heart beating so fast from every single emotion known to man-kind, but hey, if you are into that type of thing, why not?

First of all, let me just say, pretty interesting name for the male character here.

Here we meet Elder and Pim.
Both broken.
Both scarred in ways more than just physical.

Reading Pim’s story, of being kidnapped and sold, made the hair in the back of my neck stand. The fact that this is a possible real life occurrence makes it even more scary and sad.

Pim turns from a young girl at the cusp of womanhood to, well, basically a used up, discarded woman. She was bought by someone so disturbed and sick that I wanted to vomit at how she was being treated. It’s crazy and sad that she spent years under that house with that monster, who cared not for her but for his own disgusting tastes and fetishes.

Then we slowly get introduced to Elder. He has a past, a past we see hints of darkness from. He has something that Pim’s master wants, so they meet up. That is how Elder and Pim meet for the first time.

Elder is drawn to Pim from the get go. Remember, he’s not a hero. He’s also only a survivor. He fought that pull he felt between them, though not before her master noticed it. So, who pays for that? Pim of course.

This story was dark, it was sad, it angered me, but I couldn’t really do much but feel for these two characters since I’m the interloper listening in on their story. All I could do was sympathize and feel with them. Their story contains violence, broken bones, beating and abuse. It’s dark, it makes you feel anger for the characters and what they’ve been through. The bottom line is that their story makes you feel.

The backstory is completely limited, nothing that explains Pim’s history with her mother, besides a few scenes at the beginning with them interacting towards each other. There isn’t much about Elder’s history either, and what he’s been through besides a few snippets here and there and hints of abuse. That is why, I’m dying to read the next one.

I hope to discover more of why Elder is the way he is and if Pim can really grow out of the shell she was broken into.

This story is graphic, it will leave you teary-eyed, but it will also keep your interest, because really, what hope can two completely broken people have of happiness?

Well, we’ll get to find out in the next books 🙂

Happy Reading!

img_0144



Pepper Winters is a NYT and USA Today International Bestseller. She wears many roles. Some of them include writer, reader, sometimes wife. She loves dark, taboo stories that twist with your head. The more tortured the hero, the better, and she constantly thinks up ways to break and fix her characters. Oh, and sex… her books have sex.

She loves to travel and has an amazing, fabulous hubby who puts up with her love affair with her book boyfriends. She’s also honoured to wear the IndieReader Badge for being a Top 10 Indie Bestsellers, best BDSM series voted by the SmutClub, and recently signed a two book deal with Grand Central. Her books are currently being translated into numerous languages and will be in bookstores in the near future.

rose hudson      icon175x175

Leave a Reply

