Reviews

Review: White Lies – Kristin Mayer

 

32074696

fivestar_blogimage

Nothing is as it seems. Our love. Our life. Our future.
keep-calm-and-add-to-your-tbr

Were the lies to protect me? Or was it something else? 

There has to be a reason behind all of this. Finding out he doesn’t love me would devastate me beyond belief. 

They say white lies are harmless, but I don’t believe it. There has to be more to our story.




white lie
noun
a harmless or trivial lie, especially one told to avoid hurting someone’s feelings.

I just want to mention that this is the first book from this author that I’ve ever read…and I’m so glad I did. I found her through a page takeover on Facebook and won a copy of Black Truth.

I decided to read the first part first and got White Lies.

This is Willow, Gabe/Alex’s, and Tack’s story….
Willow is a privileged woman. She was born of money and has a trust fund left to her that is being looked over by her grandfather until her 30th birthday.

Meeting Gabriel Alexander Thompson by chance was fate. They fell fast and hard and their feelings created a bubble encasing them in, that is until Gabe had to leave for deployment.

The man that retuned to her wasn’t the Gabe that she knew. Though she questions it and wasn’t 100% sure in marrying him like they had promised all those years ago, she did.

Except this Gabe was different. War changed him. He had PTSD and liked to now be referred to as Alex. he started demanding more control, control of her household and of her trust fund. He wanted more control. He acted different and secretive, but was diagnosed with PTSD so Willow, being the responsible wife that she is stayed by him, until she couldn’t anymore and decided to separate.

That’s when things get extremely interesting.

Kristin Mayer gives us an engaging book full of mystery, of questions that we are dying to have answered, of hate and anger at others’ actions, and of hope. Hope for Willow and what her future brings.

I wondered who Tack was, how he knew where Willow is or when she needed him. I loved their rapport with each other. Throughout the story, their connection is strong, even just through the lines of a telephone, I felt them.

At the beginning, I was dying to answer why Alex did what he did. Who was he, really?

Towards the end, I was dying to see who Tack really was and why Willow always felt connected to him.

A story full of intrigue, full of questions, betrayal, and of love. Secret meetings in closets, touches in the dark, hidden text messages and burner phones. This is a romance unlike any other, because it makes you question everything, every clue, every hint, every action.

Twists and turns will make your head spin in a good way. It ends in a cliff, right as you start trying to piece the puzzle together. So I did the only thing I could, I went on to the next one, Black Truth.

31278635



icon175x175   13800273   images

Leave a Reply

