Reviews

Review: Neighbor Dearest – Penelope Ward

A friends-to-lovers story with sexy new characters…three-stars

After getting dumped, the last thing I needed was to move next door to someone who 30364931reminded me of my ex-boyfriend, Elec.

Damien was a hotter version of my ex.keep-calm-and-add-to-your-tbr

The neighbor I’d dubbed “Angry Artist” also had two massive dogs that kept me up with their barking.

He wanted nothing to do with me. Or so I thought until one night I heard laughter coming through an apparent hole in my bedroom wall.

Damien had been listening to all of my phone sessions with my therapist.

The sexy artist next door now knew all of my deepest secrets and insecurities.

We got to talking.

He set me straight with tips to get over my breakup.

He became a good friend, but Damien made it clear that he couldn’t be anything more.

Problem was, I was falling hard for him anyway. And as much as he pushed me away, I knew he felt the same…because his heartbeat didn’t lie.

I thought my heart had been broken by Elec, but it was alive and beating harder than ever for Damien.

I just hoped he wouldn’t shatter it for good.




We first meet Chelsea from Stepbrother Dearest, though you don’t need to read that first to understand this story. I do recommend it though since it is also a great book!

Having suffered a broken heart from being dumped by her ex-boyfriend, Chelsea picks up the pieces and moves from their old place to a new breathing ground. There, she gets to see glimpses of this sexy-ass artist around their building.

A mysterious, brooding and enigmatic man, Damien isn’t you’re average young man. He’s hiding something, though we won’t get to know what it is until much later.

I was hesitant to read Chelsea’s story at first, just because I rooted against her when it came to Elec. I was rooting for Elec to leave her and choose Greta. I didn’t know how I’d feel about Chelsea at all. Because I loved Elec and Greta’s story so much, I decided to continue. That, and I hate not continuing a series…

Chelsea and Damien’s story is such a sweet one. It doesn’t start of that way of course (they irritated the crap out of each other in the beginning), but before you know it, your heart is tumbling in.

neighbor-dearest-cap-01

They started off as strangers who annoyed each other. Then they became friends, really close friends, specially since their apartments are right next to each other. I loved that they managed to develop such a strong friendship, though I know to be able to do that, they had to bury the attraction they felt for each other.

The characters are lovable. Damien is such a lovable guy. He has his “DoubleD” babies whom we see he loves so much. He is a family oriented guy and we see that in the way he acts towards his brother and his mother. He’s complex though, which I love. Above all, he’s very respectful of Chelsea. Chelsea slowly manages to let go of Elec with the help of Damien as he continually stood by her side as her friend.

This is a friends to lovers, quick romance with a little angst, lots of heat, flirtation moments and friendly banter, and lots of questions thrown in between.

I quite enjoyed their story, though at times it became a little predictable, I still enjoyed this. I just believed it lacked something. I can’t pinpoint what it is, because the story itself was pretty enjoyable to read, I just felt it lacking.




13800273  images   icon175x175   groubfb

Leave a Reply

