Reviews

Review: This Is War, Baby – K. Webster

 

four-starsMy life had a plan. Until he invaded it and stole it all away. My captor took me and I became a pawn.

His strategy changed and he sent me away to WAR, because money is everything in thisimg_0274 world.

In my WAR, though, I found peace.

I couldn’t help but find love where I least expected it, with a man who lived a battle every day of his life
…all inside his head.

But then my captor came back for me.
Yet, this time, battle lines had been drawn and I was protected.

So we thought.
Even though my WAR was raging,
my captor would fight to the death.

The good guys always win, right?
Not always.

All’s fair in love and WAR, right? keep-calm-and-add-to-your-tbr
Not this time.

***WARNING***
This is War, Baby is a dark romance. A really dark one. So dark you’re going to wish you had a flashlight to see yourself to the end and someone to hold your hand. Human trafficking, dubious consent, and strong sexual themes that could trigger emotional distress are found in this story. This story is NOT for everyone.



I had to take a breather after reading this before starting my review… though I didn’t want to wait too long so as not to forget to mention anything at all.

K. Webster is extraordinary. I really want to be able to read her mind to see how the heck she comes up with these stories….

Baylee and Warren…
Peace and War…

Baylee, when we meet her, is a 17 year old young girl. She’s with Brandon, her boyfriend and she lives at home with her mom and dad. Just like every teenager, she’s hormonal and changing. Though her family, Brandon and Gabe have always been her constants.

Until they don’t…..

“The devil, disguised as an angel, stands in the doorway resembling a combination of both beauty and evil.”

Baylee’s innocence is ripped off of her as trust turns into betrayal. She doesn’t stay a young girl anymore. Overnight, she’s forced to turn into a woman.

This story has seriously dark themes so can’t say you weren’t warned. But everything works together, every detail fits like the perfect puzzle piece, every description is vivid, as if you see everything in person.

Baylee ends up in a world where the main rule is “Comply and you will be rewarded–“. The tragic things that you go through with her will break your heart. The internal struggle she feels will make you hurt for her.

“The pain that precedes the pleasure. The love mixed with hate. The consent versus non-consent.”

The events that happen to Baylee leads her towards War. A dangerously mysterious man with a serious affliction.

Both broken but drawn to each other for various reasons.

“I’m completely crushing over this flawed man.”

Will these two broken people be enough? Will War be able to overcome his affliction? Will Bailey be safe?

I don’t really want to say much or spoil anything for people who haven’t read it yet, so I didn’t disclose everything. What I can say is, if you want a gripping story combining psycholigical, suspenseful, and romantic themes all together, then you’d enjoy This is War, Baby.

I’d refer it to to absolutely everyone I know who enjoys dark themes as well.

This is a MUST read, no doubt about it…



                img_0227

 

Leave a Reply

