Reviews

Review: This Isn’t Over, Baby – K. Webster

They’d won the battle and I held up the white flag of defeat… four-starsimg_0276
But the war wasn’t OVER.

I suffered the aching loss of what they had stolen from me.
OVER and OVER again, my heart broke.
The white Queen and the black King had taken OVER the game
and ruled for what seemed like eternity.

Until one day, eternity was finally OVER.

I was the dark knight who would rise again and conquer.
I was the man who would win OVER the most important piece on the board.

A slayer. A protector. A father.
A new king with the blackest of hearts.

And head OVER heels in love with…
The little princess who owned my twisted soul.

Sometimes the villains don’t just want their happy ending…keep-calm-and-add-to-your-tbr
They demand it.

This isn’t OVER, baby.
This will never be OVER.

Warning: This Isn’t Over, Baby is a dark romance. Strong sexual themes and violence which could trigger emotional distress are found in this story. This story is NOT for everyone.



 

I am speechless…
This was…unimaginable. It was unexpected. But it was brilliant…

This is Book 3 in K. Webster’s War and Peace series….and boy, it is twisted… beyond anything you’d ever have thought.

If you’ve read books 1 and 2, I’m sure you’ve hated Gabe, you’ve felt fear of him and angry at him. Yet, in this story, he’s the hero.

WHAT??

Yep! Hero! He’s actually pretty normal compared to……..

You know how they always say there are two sides to every story? Well, this book reiterates that so much. There ARE two sides, we just prefer not to see from the other if we’re already comfortable viewing from one side. But boy, does this story make you think….ponder….wonder….and imagine.

Bonnie and Clyde to a T. Where Bonnie is the more unpredictable one. They say women are more dangerous, well, this book proved it.

Before reading this, I always imagined how in the world Gabe could possibly be redeemed? How could he possibly be explained? Be understood? And empathized with? How??

But I did. I felt for him, because of what his father was and what his father taught him. I felt bad for him and I understood that those circumstances, it shaped him. I hated him from the beginning, I never understood him, until I saw that’s really all he knows.

Hannah on the other hand, she’s even more twisted. She’s different, and her family has always known this. Though they all try to pretend and act normal around it, they knew, specially her father, knew what she held inside. They just didn’t know how to nurture it.

When these two absolutely twisted people meet for the first time, their connection is instantaneous. It was inevitable. He’s loved her from afar since the day she was born, and she’s been connected to him from the time she met him.

There was never any other couple better suited to each other than these two. Their darkness fed off each other. They enabled each other.

“I stare into his dark, vicious eyes and I see me. I see my own monster staring back at me. Oh, what a beautiful monster she is too.”

I didn’t think I’d ever meet a more messed up person than Gabe but boy, was I wrong. Extremely wrong. I actually felt bad for Gabe in this story. I see the sacrifices he has had to make to keep the people that he cares about safe.

What he did from the very beginning was not good, but his surroundings practically ensured that’s who he’d become.

Hannah was the perfect half of him. She is as twisted (maybe even more), as depraved (still maybe more ) than him but she knows it. She embraces it and it what’s making her feel insecure.

Mental illness is prevalent in this story and it was easy to sympathize with how it was written. I was scared, I was hurt, I was shocked and I was anxious as I read through every page.

All the crazy, and the pain, they all combined to make one heck of a family. Because they are a family now, in a way, they’ve always been.

K. Webster will take you places with this one. She will rip you from your comfort zone and make you face things you’ve never even thought of, but you will love her for it.

Because all this? It came from her mind. Though you will feel as if you were weathering the storm right with them.

This is a dark novel. Treat it as such. That way you get to experience it the way it was intended.

I loved it!


 


           img_0227

Leave a Reply

